Curried Shirataki Noodles (vegan)

One of my biggest pet peeves is when people try to take something that I’ve personally claimed as my own. My sister did exactly that by proclaiming that she was the cook of the house (besides, my mother, of course). I don’t know if it’s just me being possessive or whatever, but girl. Please tell me who’s the one who owns the food blog.

Just no. Absolutely not.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

However, I do admit that sometimes I learn from her about cooking. While I am the most discipline in the house, she is pretty health conscious and loves to find healthy and wholesome recipes to make together. We’ve even teamed up to make some pretty killer creations, such as these flourless brownies and gluten free chocolate chip cookies! These curried shirataki noodles are no different, either. They turned out even better than I could have ever imagined!

One thing we do have to work on is cleaning up the kitchen together. I end up doing most of the cleaning, which in turn results in me being the tidier sister. Not a bad thing unless if you’ve turned the kitchen upside down (I tend to do that a lot on my own by the way!). Anyhow in all seriousness, cooking with my sister is a great way for us to spend more time together. We get along pretty well in the kitchen when we’re not discussing politics or any of that ish.

Lastly, I do want to say that I made the kung pao seitan I served my noodles with too, but in reality, I purchased it from Erewhon Organics that night. You’ll have to ask them if you want the recipe–which you should because it was hella gooooooooood.

RECIPE (serves two)

  • 2 bags of angel hair shirataki noodles (each 7-8 ounces)
  • 1 tsp miso paste
  • 2 TBSP low-sodium peanut sauce
  • 2 TBSP curry powder
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp crushed garlic
  • 1/4 medium white onion, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

PROCEDURE

  1. Set a nonstick deep wok pan on medium-high heat and allow to warm for 1-2 minutes.
  2. Drain your shirataki noodle bags, rinse the noodles and let them sit in a bowl filled with room temperature water.
  3. When the pan is extremely warm, add your chopped onions and garlic and stir around until caramelized.
  4. Remove the noodles from the water and squeeze any moisture out of them before putting them into the pan.
  5. Add the noodles in the pan and mix with the onions and garlic.
  6. Stir in the snow peas, peanut sauce, curry powder, ginger, miso paste and salt and pepper thoroughly.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Do you like cooking more by yourself or with other people? Are you a messy cooker as well?

4 responses to “Curried Shirataki Noodles (vegan)”

  1. Miso, peanuts, garlic, curry, ginger… oh my goodness, I didn’t even read through the whole recipe and I ALREADY want this. And it’s 8:00 AM! Thanks for sharing such a cool recipe. The flavours look incredible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Cindy! I was really shocked with the turnout–I thought it’d be awful!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Uh, girl, I don’t think anything you make can turn out awful! Even if it does, you could salvage it with rose petals or something 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ohohooooo trust me, if I had a dime for every bad food photo I’ve ever taken, I’d probably be able to purchase Beyonce’s house. But rose petals would definitely compensate, haha! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment