Summer Green Curry (vegan + gluten free)

You guys, I never thought I would say this, but I’ve actually been using Netflix again. I know. And I don’t watch TV. Ever. Try to get me to watch a series and I stop at two episodes. If you can get me to continue the Harry Potter series after I stopped at The Goblet of Fire, then you’re a wizard. HA, GET IT?!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Okay, back to Netflix again: I remember watching Grease ten times straight until I memorized all the songs. I ended up replaying “Summer Nights” the most because it became my absolute favorite character and ensemble number in the musical movie! I also watched Grease! Live from FOX since I was pleasantly surprised by the performance of the cast. Julianne, Keke and Vanessa slaaaaaaaaayed. And let’s just take a moment for Jordan Fisher–I mean, really. Serenade me on that guitar any day. But since I’ve been listening to “Summer Nights” so frequently, I couldn’t think of a more appropriate name for this curry!

Unfortunately, there’s no connection between the musical Grease and this curry, and nothing would be better than biting into a Danny Zuko. Just admit it, it’s true. But this curry has all kinds of greased lightning that’ll make you hand jive, baby.  Bring in the favorites: butternut squash, mushrooms and Brussel sprouts.

Despite the massive heat wave a few weeks ago, I enjoyed this curry for breakfast enthusiastically. I mean, how could I not? It’s like those things that, no matter what, you will never get sick of because it’s different every time you experience it. Have it fresh out of the pot and it’s sweet, reheat as leftovers and it’s spicy and savory! If you’re not vegan, you can definitely add an even extra protein boost with some chicken, salmon, shrimp or beef! (P.S. There’s no oil in this recipe either!)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Grease Curry is the word that you heard.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

RECIPE

  • ½ block organic, non-GMO firm tofu
  • 5 cups Brussel sprouts
  • ½ cup butternut squash
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • ½ red onion
  • 1 TBSP crushed garlic
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp miso paste
  • ½ tsp cinnamon (opt.)
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper (opt.)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 ½ TBSP green curry paste
  • 1 can Trader Joe’s lite coconut milk (can also substitute for any other light coconut milk or cashew milk)
  • 1 TBSP tamari sauce or soy sauce if not gluten free (opt.)
  • Water for the pot
  • Chili flakes and cilantro to garnish
  • Optional: eggplant, sweet potatoes, broccoli, corn, cauliflower, carrots, basil, spinach, kabocha squash, bell peppers, turmeric, etc.

PROCEDURE

  1. Heat a nonstick pot or deep wok pan on medium heat.
  2. Squeeze the excess water from your tofu until the block is dry.
  3. Place your tofu in a large bowl and scramble very finely. You can also just cut them into cubes or slices. Set aside.
  4. Chop the onion half into small pieces, or in fine slices if you prefer them that way.
  5. Repeat step 2 with your mushrooms, Brussel sprouts and butternut squash.
  6. Turn the heat up to medium-high heat and add a few tablespoons of water into the pot.
  7. Mix in the onion and garlic and stir-fry until translucent.
  8. Add the curry paste, curry powder, cinnamon, cayenne and seasonings with the onion and garlic. Mix thoroughly until everything bubbles up. You may have to add more water if necessary.
  9. Stir-fry the Brussel sprouts, mushrooms and butternut squash in the same pot, making sure that the spice and curry paste mixture are evenly coated on each vegetable.
  10. Turn the heat down to medium-low.
  11. Slowly pour in the coconut milk and stir until the broth is yellowish-green.
  12. If necessary, add more green curry paste and spices.
  13. Let the curry simmer for 10-12 minutes on low heat.
  14. Serve with brown rice, quinoa, a side of steamed vegetables, whole grain naan, or like me, roasted Japanese yams and Okinawan purple sweet potatoes with maca, cinnamon and almond butter.

How often do you watch Netflix? What is your favorite musical?

7 responses to “Summer Green Curry (vegan + gluten free)”

  1. YouMakeYou — Colby Triolo Avatar
    YouMakeYou — Colby Triolo

    this. looks. to. die. for!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It is delish! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I am going to nickname you Curry! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If that’s the case, can I nickname you Salmon? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. DUH! Did I ever tell you what I intend on naming my first born daughter (if I have kids)?! LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. beautiful colours with the sweet potatoes! can i ask, do you blend your almond butter with cinnamon and maca? or are those just sprinkled on top afterwards?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you so much Michele! I sprinkle the cinnamon and maca on top of the sweet potatoes, then drizzle the almond butter separately! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment